The Bahamas is a country made up of a chain of islands, a popular tourist destination. The Bahamas comprise an archipelago of about 700 islands and islets and nearly 2,400 cays. The Bahamas make up the northern end of an island chain called the West Indies that stretches through the Caribbean Sea all the way to South America.

The first place Christopher Columbus landed when he came to America, in 1492, was an island of the Bahamas. Columbus claimed the island for Spain and named it San Salvador. Historians are not sure which island Columbus landed on, but they think it may have been present-day San Salvador or Samana Cay. More: Map of Nassau

The Bahamas



North America


The Bahamas



Coco Cay, The Bahamas.


Main towns: Nassau (capital, pop. 231,500 in 2006) on New Providence; Freeport (47,100), West End (12,900) and High Rock (3,800) on Grand Bahama; Cooper’s Town (8,600) and Marsh Harbour (5,400) on Abaco; Freetown (4,100) and Spanish Wells (1,800) on Eleuthera; Andros Town (2,400) on Andros; Clarence Town (1,700) on Long Island.

More: Antigua & Barbuda, St. Vincent & the Grenadines and St Kitts & Nevis


North America Map




◄ America maps

◄ World maps


North America




Copyright © Geographic Guide - World in Pictures, American Continent.


Flag Bahamas


World in Pictures




The Bahamas